top of page
  • Writer's pictureHavilah

When Fires Die: (A Poem)

We just wanted to live. We only wanted the world to hold together Well enough to forgive. We only wanted a way to weather the winds. So how did it come to this?


Instead, we’ve got high hopes Dashed by a dream of a fallen star We’ve got nothing but ropes to tie together Something as broken as we are We only wanted to live So how did it come to this? How did life seem so much like dying That we wanted to stop trying? My ghost, My starry-eyed resurrection, My spark in the darkness, My reason to hope, This is my note. This is something to hold onto When you think you’re alone This is not a surrender It’s a plea for you to stay When your tears start flowing And it’s my time to go. I want you to know That every time I walk among the stars I’ll think of you, so far below And I will wish I could be there I will wish that you could be here But it’s my time to go


We just wanted to live We only wanted a chance To hold our hopes together With the ropes we used to weather the winds.


Why did it come to this?

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Relic

Illusion

Sparkle Charm Luck Chance Dazzle Velvet Purple Dance Glitter Glance I caught a glimpse of magic A touch of mystic A dust of masquerade and mischief Trance I saw a glint of faces Heads and tales are sp

bottom of page